Posted in Reflections, Religion

Reflection: Introduction to the Parables of Jesus

January’s Reflections are going to focus on the parables of Jesus. I wrestled with this because I thought “how passé!” or “how could I possibly say something that hasn’t already been said?” So, I started reviewing them and identifying which one I would want to study weekly.

Days passed. Now it’s Wednesday night and I’m finally to my post (not how I like to handle things).

As I was trying to identify which one to do first, I came across the following article: “The Parables of Jesus: The Priceless Parables” by Frank F. Judd Jr. Without realizing it, I WAS studying the parables already. I was learning ABOUT parables.

Summarizing the article briefly, there are 2 types of parables: parables of instruction versus parables of rebuke. (I’m going to be studying parables of instruction).

Also, when reading the parables, praying about them, and trying to understand, you must identify the differences between interpretation and application. (I will focus on applying them to my own life.)

9 Who hath ears to hear, let him hear.

10 And the disciples came, and said unto him, Why speakest thou unto them in parables?

11 He answered and said unto them, Because it is given unto you to know the mysteries of the kingdom of heaven, but to them it is not given.

12 For whosoever hath, to him shall be given, and he shall have more abundance: but whosoever hath not, from him shall be taken away even that he hath.

13 Therefore speak I to them in parables: because they seeing see not; and hearing they hear not, neither do they understand.

— Matthew 13:9-13

The Savior gave us parables to understand doctrinal truths and knowledge in a manner that could be both deeply studied, but also be simple enough for children to understand. However, you must be open to learning it and have faith to do so.

 

