Posted in Reflections, Religion

Reflection: Parable of the Talents

“Talents” in this parable do not refer to money, but in our abilities. Each of us here on earth is unique and have a set of strengths that we should develop and use.

I have several abilities – compassion, ease with working with children, organizational skills, and the like. My husband has different abilities: he has an analytical mind, he’s an amateur handyman, and a great outdoorsman.

If I don’t use the gifts I’m given, they can be easily taken away because all of my blessings come from God. Just as we pay tithing back to Heavenly Father, we use our talents to benefit him in the service of one’s self, our families, and our neighbors.

However, we all grow by learning and using our abilities. We are blessed with additional skills and competencies. We gain more knowledge.

What happens when you stop practicing a new skill? For example… who remembers the Pythagorean theorem or actually uses it in their daily life?

21 His lord said unto him, Well done, thou good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.

— Matthew 25:21

It only seems fitting that the same principle applies to faith.

We receive innumerable blessings when we take that first leap of faith in accepting the gospel of Jesus Christ. When we are baptized and confirmed, we receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.

As we continue to pray, obey the commandments, and continually repent, grow, and evolve, we gain the blessings of increased happiness and joy.

The more I am blessed, the more I should find ways to use my gifts (“talents”) in serving God.

